Novus Initium

Standard

WeekOne

Novus Initium – New Beginnings

So the first week went pretty much as well as I had hoped. As a kick start I have decided to incorporate the ‘Five & Two’ diet which includes two fasting days where my caloric intake is reduced significantly.

By way of exercise I got to my local pool and splashed out a 1 hour session (circa 2.5kms). This session was mixed up with 500 meters freestyle, 200 meters with kickboard and fins and 200 meters using a pull-buoy focusing on good technique (repeat). You can see by the photo the beautiful weather didn’t make it too much of a chore dragging myself poolside.

The highlight for me was the light 5 kilometre run where I managed to hold a semi-respectable pace of 5:07/km. I should mention at this point that I have a triathlon background so I have taken some comfort in these three activities to begin with. The cycle component has simply been commuting to and from work which is only 12kms/day.

If you do not already own a Nutri-bullet, it is certainly something you might like to look at investing in. For me personally, I have struggled to get enough fruit and vegetable into my diet. This has made it so much easier, and it’s actually fun putting whatever you want into it. I have provided two examples of my ‘recipes’ below.

Cucumber
Mint leaves
Pineapple
Watermelon
Spinach
Chia Seeds

Celery
Cherry tomatoes
Spinach leaves
Mulberries
Carrot
Snow Peas
Cucumber

Leave a comment